Kris Travis on being the UK’s #1 pro wrestler

Kris Travis in action at Southside Wrestling. Photo courtesy of Brett Hadley.

Kris Travis in action at Southside Wrestling.
Photo courtesy of Brett Hadley.

Kris Travis recently stormed the annual Fighting Spirit Magazine Awards, winning UK Wrestler of the Year, UK Tag Team of the Year and UK Pro Wrestling Match of the Year 2013. I spoke to Kris Travis himself to ask him what it means to win such an award.

“It’s so ridiculous. Every time I’m in a magazine I keep the magazine. It’s a massive mark-out moment.”

Travis described winning UK Wrestler of the Year as a cementing of his skill, passion and desire for his craft that he has applied himself to over the past 12 years: “All of the people who have looked at it as a joke can look at this magazine and see that I share the same pages as the guys who they consider the ‘real’ wrestlers.”

Kris Travis is referring to a number of people who saw his career choice of a pro wrestler being a joke in the early years. He told me his friends often joke around and call him Hulk Hogan, but a select few thought Kris’ decision to pursue wrestling was a bad one.

After 12 years of performing and honing his skills, which Kris admitted to being generic and rubbish at first, he has now reached a level which he can be happy at: “I’m seen to be one of the top in the UK so I’m just happy being at that level and hopefully making a bit of money from wrestling because it’s not a glamorous world.” Shoulder and neck injuries are just a few nagging pains 30-year-old Kris Travis deals with on a day to day basis when at the gym maintaining the fitness level required to be at the top of his game.

Kris Travis.  Photo courtesy of Brett Hadley

Kris Travis.
Photo courtesy of Brett Hadley

Digging deeper, I asked Kris to explain his character and his pretty boy look. “I’m pretty much the person who you would see on a night out and think ‘what a dick’.

“He loves himself, he thinks those girls are gonna fancy him. He thinks everyone loves him.”

Travis said he does this to wind people up. Another thing he does to wind the crowd up is wear bright pink: “Pink is kind of associated with being a bit of a girly colour so it automatically makes people dislike you.” Travis must be doing something right as even though he tries his very best to annoy the crowds he wrestles in front of, they still voted in great numbers, with Kris Travis scoring 28% of the votes in the Fighting Spirit Magazine Awards, 5% more than second place Zack Sabre Jr.

“It’s given me a lot of fans and a lot of pleasure.”

Not only did Kris scoop the solo award, he also won UK Tag Team of the Year alongside Martin Kirby as Project Ego, with the pair garnering 51% of the votes: “Kirby’s an amazing wrestler. I rate Kirby as higher than me, as better than me; especially in the tag format.” Travis and Kirby were first placed together as a team on a small show in Rotherham at what Kris described to me as a “shitty working men’s club.” Since then the team has gone from strength to strength, mixing charisma with athleticism to form Project Ego: “We just work as a team.”

Rounding off his treble, Travis won UK Pro Wrestling Match of the Year for his match against former WWE star Chris Masters on June 1 at Preston City Wrestling. Travis said: “I go out there and have some of the best matches and take some of the biggest risks.” Watch Travis vs Masters below:

While Travis has done a lot in his 12 years of wrestling, he still holds a dream of one day making it to the WWE: “I have always said to myself I’ll be on WrestleMania next year. If I’m looking at it from an honest point of view, I don’t think I’ll ever make it to WWE/TNA but that’s not going to stop me trying.”

One thought on “Kris Travis on being the UK’s #1 pro wrestler

Leave a Reply

